top of page
  • Writer's picturewanded527

Knit Picks High Desert Yarn

New yarn alert!


I am beyond excited to tell you about this new yarn from Knit Picks! High Desert is a 100% American-grown and spun wool yarn with incredible texture and bounce. It is available exclusively through Knit Picks website in two weights: worsted and sport. I have three colors shown here, but it comes in 12 gorgeous earthy tones.





Thunderbird Hat and Mitts

In partnership with Knit Picks, I have also designed a new set of patterns to show off the beauty of this yarn. I chose the worsted weight. Each skein is 100 grams/ 217 yards. The ply of High Desert is very springy and bouncy, making it perfect to use for this pattern full of twisted stitches. Even with all of these twists, the design remains stretchy because of the characteristics of this yarn. After blocking to relax the stitches, it becomes luxuriously soft and comfortable to wear. The Thunderbird Hat is available now on Ravelry and Etsy, and the fingerless mitts will be coming soon.


Here are the specs of the worsted weight yarn:

I can't speak for what the sport weight feels like, but the worsted weight yarn is very soft with a lot of spring to it. It is 3-plied with a tight twist and did not split when I was casting on or knitting. Such a plus! I don't know about you, but when I try new yarns, I always cake them to see how they feel and also to check for knots. I have used 3 skeins and have found just one knot. All in all, this is definitely something I'd work with again. The colors are so beautifully complimentary as well so it really takes the guesswork out of pairing them together!


Until next time my friends! Keep creating!


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page